Audience with Murder

by  Roger Leach, Colin Wakefield

Full Length Play, Dramatic Comedy  /  2m, 2f

"It is no accident that the Jermyn Street playbill for this comedy thriller is free of all descriptive matter, save for a photograph of the play script ... To offer more could spoil the surprise that, with a string of startling denouements, utterly c…

Read more +
License Estimator

Use this tool for cost estimates based on your specific needs.

  • Cast Size

    Cast Size

    2m, 2f
  • Duration

    Duration

    90 minutes
  • SubGenre

    Subgenre

    Mystery/Thriller
  • Audience

    Target Audience

    • Adult

Additional Info

This intriguing and multi-layered, witty thriller is full of unexpected twists. A Russian doll of a play, it moves from a seemingly innocuous domestic play reading, through a murder mystery in the classic style, to a final terrifying and violent climax.

CAST (2F, 2M)

Four plays in one, requiring the following:

M - late 40's/mid 50's

F - late 40's/mid 50's

M - early to mid 20's

F - early to mid 20's

One set (a drawing room)

Read more +

Reviews

"It is no accident that the Jermyn Street playbill for this comedy thriller is free of all descriptive matter, save for a photograph of the play script ... To offer more could spoil the surprise that, with a string of startling denouements, utterly confounds audience expectations ..." - The Stage

"This was the best theatre we saw on the Fringe this year." - Edinburgh - Your Voice

"Audience with Murder is a chameleon of a thriller... packed to the gunwales with guile, chutzpah and humour. Catch it if you can." - Edinburghguide.com

"Exquisitely plotted... An evening of taut, suspenseful entertainment, shot through with the kind of dark humour that helps to ramp up the tension." - Ilford Recorder

"A stylish thriller in the tradition of Deathtrap and Sleuth." - Pewter Plough Playhouse, Cambria, California

Considerations

Cautions

  • Artboard 3 Gun Shots
  • Caution Intense Adult Intense Adult Themes
  • Caution Strong Language Strong Language

License details

  • Minimum Fee: £69 per performance plus VAT when applicable.

Production

Details

  • Time Period: Contemporary, Present Day
  • Duration: 90 minutes
  • Additional Features: Not Applicable

Casting

2m, 2f
See all +

Casting Notes

Plus 1 male voice

Resources

Available Services

More

Authors

Roger Leach

Roger Leach (1948 – 2001) was an English-Australian actor who played Sgt. Tom Penny in The Bill, and guest starred in Bergerac, Perfect Scoundrels and Doctors. Leach was born in Sydney, Australia and read English at Sydney University where he also participated in rowing and o ...

View full profile

Colin Wakefield

Colin Wakefield wrote Audience With Murder with actor and playwright Roger Leach. In addition to this thriller, he has written two stage comedies, Double Or Twin and On Your Honour (also with Roger Leach); Sleep No More, a supernatural thriller (with David Gillespie); and twenty traditional pantomimes and children's mu ...

View full profile
It was first produced at the Edinburgh Festival in 2004 and subsequently presented to critical acclaim at the Jermyn Street Theatre, London, in 2006.

Now Playing

Community Experiences